The Comfort Zone: Where Progress Goes to Die

  

We all strive to eventually reach a certain level of comfort in our life (bigger house, better job, nicer car, etc.) but to achieve success in life, we must get out of our comfort zone. Frederick Douglas said, “If there is no struggle, there is no progress.” Meaning if something is easy, it isn’t making you or those around you better. “If it doesn’t kill you, it only makes you stronger” has always been one of my favorite quotes. Successful people don’t look for the easy road, they hit the uphill trail with great determination and will.  
To be better in business/career it may mean stepping into a position that may not be “your cup of tea”. In fitness, it means working on your weakness. I have seen greater progress since evaluating my weaknesses and attacking them with a greater intensity. Stepping out of our comfort zone can be beneficial in all walks of life. I used to look to stay within my comfort zone, and wondered why the wheels were just kind of spinning.  
I am writing this more as a challenge to myself than to you but I know there may be someone out there with similar experience. There are goals that I have wanted to eventually achieve, but have I been stepping out of my comfort zone to reach those goals or just hoping they fall in my lap??  Probably not. Have you been sitting in your comfort zone?? Are you willing to get a little uncomfortable to achieve great things?  I know i have used a lot of quotes but here is another one to ponder, “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”
Leave a Reply

